Kids Yoga

What is Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtanga Yoga is a tremendous system of asanas. It is designed to increase flexibility, strength, and stamina. In this post, we are going to have a look at some poses. Maharishi Patanjali is considered the father of yoga, although Ashtanga Yoga incorporates all disciplines of religion and philosophy, as well as a combination of physical and mental sciences.
The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali are 196 Indian sutras (aphorisms) addressing Yoga. Patanjali is believed to have composed the Yoga Sutras around 400 CE one of the oldest forms.

The Ashtanga system has roots in yoga’s earliest days, with modern-day practitioners claiming a greater focus on breathing, being more relaxing for the body, and gaining benefits that can decrease carpal tunnel syndrome. Ashtanga yoga is divided into eight parts. These eight limbs described in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras: – Yama, Niyam, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharna, Meditation, and Samadhi.

At present, only three sections of yoga are known as asana, pranayama, and meditation. Now, let’s really learn more about eight sections of Ashtanga Yoga.

First is Yama under which, there are five,-Ahimsa, Satya, Astaya, Brahmacharya, and Aparigraha. Similarly, there are five laws as well. These are Shocha (purification of mind and body), Santhosh, Tapa. Likewise, also in pratyahara, mind and awareness are separated by exterior topics, and the mind drifting in thought is returned to one spot. Meditation, which means experiencing our essence, comes after this.
Samadhi is the last step, that is, to live in one’s own pure self.

Yoga skilled

Eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

1. Yama or Ethical Restraints (यम)
Yama means morality. Yama also has five distinctions, Ahimsa, Satya, Astaya, Brahmacharya, and Aparigraha. A person who does not follow them has adverse effects on both his life and society.

2. Niyama or Ethical Observances (नियम)
In Ashtanga Yoga, five distinctions of the rule have been given: – Poop, contentment, austerity, self-study, and God providence. A man should work according to the rules in his life. know – Yogic Diet Chart

3. Asana or Physical Posture (आसन)
Patanjali has termed the action of sitting in steady or Sukhasana to control his body. Asana is basically the main aspect of hatha yoga.

4. Pranayama or Breath Control (प्राणायाम)
Pranayama means inhaling and exhaling. Pranayama is very helpful in curbing the concentration of the mind and concentrating.

5. Pratyahara or Withdrawal of Senses (प्रत्याहार)
Keeping the senses under control is pratyahara. Removing the senses of the eyes, ears, nose, etc. from the subjects of the world and concentrating the mind is called pratyahara. Through pratyahara, you can make your senses external.

6. Dharna or Concentration (धारणा)
It is indeed a belief that an individual has to concentrate the mind onto one place. In dharna, by focusing his mind, a person must focus his mind, which is called Dharana.

7. Dhyana or Meditation (ध्यान)
When you remember something and concentrate your mind in the same direction, it is called meditation. In the state of complete meditation there is no knowledge of any other object or memory.

8. Samadhi or Superconsciousness (समाधि)
When our mind and soul remain in meditation only through continuous meditation and the whole body becomes zero, that condition is called samadhi. In this situation, the soul meets the divine.
There are two distinctions of Samadhi: – Samprajnata and Asamprajnata.


Father of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga?

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois has created a tremendous sequence of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga six series containing Primary series, Intermediate and Advance series.

In most traditional Vinyasa Flow courses, the Primary sequence consists of the asana that you can see. the only distinction is that with a fixed sequence that doesn’t being shifted, you’ll do them. But many students will start with a quarter Primary, and the instructor will include more till you are prepared to do the entire primary series when you’re more proficient in the poses. Know – Suryabhedi Pranayama

Vajrasana Steps - Vajrasana Precautions - Vajrasana Benefits

Ashtanga list of Primary Series postures

Starting with Surya Namaskar A Surya Namaskar B

Padangusthasana (Big Toe pose)Dandasana (Stick Pose)Bhujapid Asana (Shoulder Pressing Pose) Jump back from Crow pose
Pada Hastasana (Standing Forward Bend)Paschimottanasana (3 X West Intense Stretch)Kurmasana (Tortoise)
Trikonasana (Triangle Pose)Purvottanasana (East Intense Stretch)Supta Kurmasana (Reclining Tortoise) Jump back
Parivritta Trikonasana (Revolved Triangle)Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana (Seated Half Bound Lotus Forward Fold)Garbha Pindasana (Fetus Pose – 9 rolls)
Utthita Parsvakonasana (Extended Side Angle)Trianga Mukai Kapada Paschimottanasana (One Leg Folded Backside Seated Forward Fold)Kukkutasana (Rooster Posture)
Parivritta Parsvakonasana (Revolved Side Angle)Janu Shirshasana (Head To Knee Pose)Baddha Konasana (Bound Angle) Jump back
Prasarita Padottanasana (Wide Leg Forward Fold)Marichyasana (A, B, C & D)Upavista Konasana (Wide-Angle Forward Seated) Release Feet Then Lift
Parsvottonasana (Side Intense Stretch)Navasana (Boat Pose)Supta Konasana (Reclining Angle Pose, Open Plough) Jump back, Lie Down
Utthita Hasta Pādāṅguṣṭhāsana (Standing Big Toe)Supta Padangustasana (Supine Hand To Toe Pose A & B) Just Like The Standing Balances
Ardha Baddha Padma Uttanasana (Half Bound Lotus Standing)Ubhaya Padangustasana (Both Big Toes Pose)
Uttkatasana (Chair Pose)Urdvha Mukha Paschimottan Asana (Upward-Facing Forward Seated) Jump back
Virabhadrasana I (Warrior I)Setu Bandhasana (Bridge-Building Pose) Jump back
Virabhadrasana II (Warrior II)

Finally, Relax in Shavasana!!!

Corpse Yoga Pose

Note: If you want to start yoga classes at the comfort of your home then you can email us to join online yoga classes. We are always happy to help. Always make sure to contact your doctor whenever you are performing any new exercise

Follow us on Facebook- Yoga Skilled

By Shivani

I'm a certified yoga instructor with 4 years of knowledge and practice. I started teaching in a yoga center for ladies it was really great.😊 I felt wonderful when I am teaching yoga and helping others to gain their goals. After getting more experience from teaching in a center. I started working in a yoga retreat resort where I gave yoga sessions in groups and to kids. I love writing about my experience to help others.🙏🏻

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *